Song of the Sea Maid by Rebecca Mascull

13736034_787924198011190_935951327_n_zpsy4cj3hun

Genre: historical fiction, romance
Year Of Publication: 11th February 2016
Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton
Pages: 312 ( paperback)
My rating: 5/5

Dawnay Price is a force to be reckoned with.
Alone in the world; she dreams of greater things – an education.

Education at a time when it’s considered frivolous for a woman to learn anything else other than housework – but she will not be deterred.

“Orphans are not to learn to write. And the idea of a girl receiving an education would never be borne. He has three daughters himself and no sons and has given them all the same sage advice in order to secure matrimony, namely, that they should hide any vestige of a lively mind if they are to catch a husband. Wives who are cleverer than their husbands are unnecessary, as are clever servants likewise. Thinking never cleaned a floor.”

She is clearly a woman ahead of her time and won’t let society and its notions about what women should or should not do stand in her way.
She has her eyes set on an adventure and an adventure she will have.


Set in 1750; Rebecca Mascull takes us on a journey through the Berlengas – the islands of Portugal about which very little is known.
Accompanying us is Dawnay Price a woman of science in a mans world.
Her hunger for knowledge is infectious and we are left wondering what she’ll do next and where her research will lead her.

“I have always been an outcast: a foundling, a woman, a thinker. Once I sought to join the crowd for approbation, existing on the edges, looking in. Now I have geological time as my lens.It has brought me great peace.”

The attention to detail and historical facts was superb – the scenery ( and even the devastation of the earthquake) is vividly described and makes you feel like you were right there with Dawnay experiencing these moments in history.
My favourite part was the mermaids – for a moment there I actually began to believe they existed.

“I am under the water,eyes open, swimming towards the rock. It is gone. I turn a complete circle under the water, swim deeper. My lungs are crying out for their medium of air. Then I spot it, some yards away from me, side on, undulating. Blurred yet quite distinct, a creature, Pale, curved, forearms dangling.”

I was able to travel the seas without leaving the confines of my own room.The “ Song of the Sea maid” successfully made me crave for the sea like nothing else.

Rebecaa Mascull has outdone herself. I was very lucky to get a chance to read “Song of the Sea Maid” and I’ll definitely be reading more of her works in the future.
*“The Visitors” sound so so GOOD. (I can’t find it yet – still looking *fingers crossed*)

UPDATE: Rebecca Mascull has a new book coming out soon. Its called “The Wild Air” and everything about it is perfect! Can’t wait for it to be released!

Author: zoeymuses

BIBLIOPHILE / #BOOKSTAGRAMMER / BOOK REVIEWER blog: zoeymusesaboutbooks.wordpress.com instagram: @zoeymuses.aboutbooks twitter: @zoeymusesabtbks

2 thoughts on “Song of the Sea Maid by Rebecca Mascull”

Leave a Reply

